Canon EOS M First Impressions

Backstory:

I’m going to visit my girlfriend in LA this coming summer.  I obviously want to bring a camera along, but I didn’t want to drag my EOS 1Ds, nor did I want to take my crappy point-and-shoot.  (too big/heavy and too short of zoom range respectively).  The only real options were to get a mirrorless camera or a super-zoom.  I’d been eyeing the Canon EOS M mirrorless system for several months, but the outrageous price tag kept me away.  Recently, Canon plunged the price by $500 (it was now around $300) That was low enough for me to jump on it.  I scoured eBay for an even better deal, and I picked up a BNIB EOS M body for $246 shipped, along with an EF-M to EF lens mount adapter for $120.  This meant I could shoot with my existing collection of Canon glass.

Review:
I’ve had my EOS M for 3 days now. Over the weekend I did some free-lensing, and today I got my EF mount converter in and tried it with my EF glass.

First impressions? I’m glad I jumped on the MILC bandwagon! It’s got great photo quality, and the video is stunning.

Pros:
Feels good to hold, light, balanced – well, unless you mount stupid lenses to it anyways
Photo quality is excellent – I’d say just under my 1Ds

Video is…well, it’s a Canon, so video is AMAZING!

Cons:
In AI Servo mode, it’s loud as hell (likely my crappy glass though) – this makes using AI Servo completely impossible in video mode. I don’t have my external mic yet, so I can’t comment on how much this improves the issue (if at all?)

It’s picky about SD cards for some reason. My Patriot-branded 32GB Class 4 card can’t keep up with video (auto-stops after about 30 seconds), even at 720p60; yet my PNY-branded 8GB Class 4 works fine in 720p60 and 1080p30. I don’t have any other cards on-hand to try, but I’ll probably just wind up picking up a couple more of those PNY cards since they seem to work fine.

Bootnotes:
AF speed seems no slower than my 1Ds, so I’m not too sure what the reviewers were bitching about…perhaps the new firmware did make a huge difference? I can’t say for sure…either way, no issues with that.

Any reviewers who say options they feel should be there are missing – RTFM (or learn how to use a real camera, not a Kodak EasyShare) – nearly all options are disabled in “old person’s auto” mode – you have to shoot in Program to get all of the features. There’s also the “advanced preferences” menu that’s found in all Canon DSLR’s – again, it’s hidden in “stupid user” mode.

So yeah, over all, I’m super-happy with it! Can’t wait to get the 90EX flash so I can really play indoors with this thing! Updates to come with some outdoors test shots tomorrow.

-Faulty

