CT Gun Control

I’ve not said much about this, but I’ve been asked quite a lot; so I felt I should at least post something giving my views on the new gun control laws which were passed in CT last night. I will mainly touch on the firearms portion of the law, as I plan to write another (and likely more though) article on the school safety, judicial, and healthcare portions of the law.

First off – don’t get me wrong. I’m pro-gun…I’ve got an active NRA membership if that gives enough of a hint. With that made clear, let’s get on with this.

Overall, I feel the laws passed last night are a good start. Will they stop the next Sandy Hook or Aroura? No. Will they make the streets of Hartford and Bridgeport safer? No. But they’re a step in the right direction.

There’s a lot in the law I do like. No long guns under age 21…that makes sense, it’s been that way with handguns at the federal level for ages, and I never understood the age difference.

I like the universal background checks and the requirement to get a permit to buy long guns. Again, no idea why this was any different than handguns or why it wasn’t put in place sooner.

No private-only gun sales are another thing I like. I never understood why I could buy a rifle with cash off a friend and take it home right there and then, leaving no trail at all of the purchase; but yet if I went to the local sporting goods store, I’d have have to pass a background check and not be able to pickup my firearm for 2 weeks. Sending all purchases through an FFL only makes sense.

Now on to things that I like, but still aren’t 100%.
Expanded mental health checks during background checks makes sense and needs to be there; but only 5 years back isn’t enough by any means. 10 years at the minimum is where I stand on this.

Limits on magazine capacity. Pointless, will never do anything, unenforceable, and riddled with loopholes. Unless something is done at a federal level, this is a joke. I do support an outright ban on 11+ round mags – they’re pointless, look retarded, and make using a firearm harder because of the added weight. No real use for them outside of a combat theater, and personally I couldn’t care about restrictions. I’ll mention more on this in a bit. In addition to this, emerging technology like cheap 3D printers and ever more affordable CNC systems combined with the lack of trace lot requirements for magazines are going to make any ban or restriction impossible to enforce.

Assault weapons ban – I’m neutral here…I couldn’t care either way, as I don’t like any “assault” style firearms. I feel they’re too heavy, too awkward to hold, not accurate at long range, look ugly, have zero craftsmanship behind them, and are uncomfortable to fire due to the grip position.

That leads me back to the limits on magazine sizes. The firearms I do like (and ones I intend to own as soon as I find a suitable non-parentally-controlled location in which to store them) either never had large mags produced or had limited runs of them made which never saw the civilian market. The Springfield M1 Garand is the #1 firearm I’d like to own. It feeds from an 8 round Enbloc magazine. Due to the unique way Enbloc magazines work and how they are both inserted and ejected on the top of the rifle, no magazine other than the standard 8 rounder was ever made. The other firearm I would like to own is the Springfield M1903. It was mainly used during the two world wars, first as an infantry rifle in WWI and then as a sniper rifle in WWII (the M1 replaced the M1903 as the standard-issue infantry rifle for WWII). There was nothing past the standard 5 round magazine that was sold on the civilian markets, and only a very limited number of 25 round magazines were produced for use in the Air Force. These M1903’s were different than normal ones, the magazine was NOT detachable, and very few are known to still exist due to the limited production numbers.

All that said, it should be clear why I simply do not care about magazine restrictions. They do not, and will not impact me simply because my taste in firearms is different than what these laws are targeting.

I will likely edit this post as I read through more of the law and the court cases against it play more, so if you want to see the changes, I’ll make sure note them.

