The Monster Has Been Unleashed

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything…guess I should fix that.

Life has been…well, nuts.  Between a HUGE project at work (I’ll do a separate post on this, as it will become a regular topic I post about) and my own projects, I don’t have too much free time.

Now, this post is tagged SkyStalker.  What is this you might ask?  It’s the name of my new workstation…one that I’ve spent the last 6 months (and several thousand dollars) building.  It’s by-far the most powerful, largest, most complex, most expensive, and most ridiculous build I’ve ever done.

Specs below:

EVGA Classified SR-2 motherboard
4x EVGA/nVIDIA GTX260 core 216 Video Cards
2x Intel Xeon L5520 CPU’s
48GB of G.Skill DDR3 RAM
Custom water cooling system
2x Thermaltake 750w Modular PSU’s
Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra case
DVD Burner
300GB Velociraptor HDD

Now those are the current specs…below is what will be added over the coming months:

Replacing the Velociraptor 8x 64GB SSD’s in a RAID 0 array on an Areca RAID card

Replace the crappy radiator with a 1/2 ton chiller, replace the dinky-ass 1.5 GPM pump with an 8 GPM tubine pump, convert the video cards to water cooling, build a full enclosure to house the cooling system, and replace all of the crappy tubing that keeps kinking – all of this is to achieve my end goal of getting a stable 4+ GHz overclock and converting all 4 GPU’s to single-slot so I can add a 10 gigabit Ethernet card for connecting to my file server as well as the RAID card I mentioned above.

Replacing the DVD burner with a BluRay burner

Replacing the crappy red LED fans with super high flow Delta-branded industrial fans with a custom speed controller

That speed controller?  Yeah,  it’s to shut those fans up as they’re loud as all hell.  Between the chiller, the twin 20″ box fans that will blow air through the cooling system enclosure and these fans, I’d need hearing protection to sit next to this computer.  Mind you, this is my workstation, so I sit ~2 feet away from it for 8-12 hrs. a day…the last thing I want is to go deaf from fan noise.

That’s pretty much it for the moment…I’ll try to keep this a bit more updated, and I’ll try to throw some of my pics up on Flickr or something so I can cross-link albums here.

SkyStalker on the left, my unfinished file server (Apollo) on the right, the awesome stereo in the right background, and the temp. water bucket for SkyStalker in the left background.

SkyStalker on the left, my unfinished file server (Apollo) on the right, the awesome stereo in the right background, and the temp. water bucket for SkyStalker in the left background.

